The Impressions
This Is My Country / Young Mods

This Is My Country / Young Mods



Two original albums from 1968 and 1969 now on one CD from the soul outfit who generated more than 50 hit singles. With Curtis Mayfield on lead vocals.


One of the most successful and enduring groups in soul music, The Impressions were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1991. Between 1958 and 1987 they notched up over fifty hit singles on a number of record labels.

From 1968 to 1976 the group recorded for Curtis Mayfield’s own Curtom imprint, where their songs became even more political and socially conscious, very much reflecting the mood in America’s black community of the time. Their sound also took on a suitably harder, funkier edge.

Curtis, a founder member of the band as well as guitarist, producer and the main songwriter, was The Impressions’ principal vocalist from 1957 up to 1970 and features on both these two classic Curtom albums, This Is My Country (1968) and The Young Mods’ Forgotten Story (1969).

Includes the big hits Choice Of Colours – an R&B chart topper, Fool For You and This Is My Country.


  1. Stay Close To Me
  2. I’m Loving Nothing
  3. Love’s Happening
  4. Gone Away
  5. You Want Somebody Else
  6. So unusual
  7. My Woman’s Love
  8. Fool For You
  9. This Is My Country
  10. The Young Mods’
  11. Forgotten Story
  12. Choice Of Colours
  13. The Girl I Find
  14. Wherever You Leadeth Me
  15. My Deceiving Heart
  16. Seven Years
  17. Love’s Miracle
  18. Jealous Man
  19. Soulful Love
  1. Mighty, Mighty (Spade And Whitey)

Click here to buy