Sun Ra & His Solar Myth Arkestra
The Solar Myth Approach Vol 1 and 2

The Solar Myth Approach Vol 1 and 2


The Sun Ra mystique is greater today today than ever, largely as a result of the unique personality of the musician, his music and the pivotal role he played in the development of avant garde music.

This digitally-remastered 2CD set comprises two original albums recorded by Sun Ra at the end of the 60’s for the esteemed French jazz label BYG. It marks the first time that the complete recording of this major work has been reissued in its entirety.

The work itself features many of Sun Ra’s usual musical partners, including sax players Pat Patrick
and John Gilmore. It displays a rich range of varying moods, ranging from percussion-led titles (Realm Of Lightning) to chants (The Satellites Are Spinning), free improvisation (The Utter Nots), as well as spaced-out moog solos (Scene I, Take I).

New sleeve notes from The Wire contributor Edwin Pouncey.

Disc One

  1. Spectrum
  2. Realm Of Lightning
  3. The Satellites Are Spinning
  4. Legend
  5. Seen III, Took 4
  6. They’ll Come Back
  1. Adventures Of Bugs Hunter

Disc Two

  1. The utter Nots
  2. Outer Spaceways, Inc.
  3. Scene 1, Take 1
  4. pyramids
  5. Interpretation
  6. Ancient Ethiopia
  1. Strange Worlds

Click here to buy