Nina Simone
The Nina Simone Story

The Nina Simone Story



The most comprehensive 3 CD collection available from this extraordinary performer. Chronicles the heyday of her career from 1958 to 1985, including all her classic recordings for Bethlehem Records.

This 3CD set is the most comprehensive Nina Simone collection available and an ideal introduction to her extraordinary recording legacy.

Nina Simone, who died in 2003 was one of the 20th century’s most significant popular singers, as well as being a leading figure in the civil rights movement of the late Sixties.

In a recent critics’ poll in ‘Mojo’ magazine was voted amongst the top five vocalists of all time.

Her music has always defied categorisation. During her long recording career she encompassed just about every popular music style, from soul to jazz, from folk to R&B and from gospel to Broadway hits.

‘The Nina Simone Story’ is a 3-cd career-spanning collection of studio and live recordings made in her heyday years between 1959 and 1985 and includes songs from all these musical genres. Included are studio recordings she made for the Bethlehem label in 1959 which launched her extraordinary career and gave her two of her biggest hits, ‘My Baby Just Cares For Me’ and ‘I Loves You Porgy’. The set closes with some of her last studio recordings.

Always a charismatic live performer, this collection includes such concert favourites as ‘House Of The Rising Sun’, ‘Ain’t Got No /I Got Life’, ‘Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood’ and ‘Mississippi Goddam’.

Disc One

  1. My Baby Just Cares For Me
  2. I Loves You Porgy
  3. Love Me Or Leave Me
  4. Little Girl Blue
  5. Mood Indigo
  6. He Needs Me
  7. Don’t Smoke In Bed
  8. Good Bait
  9. Plain Gold Ring
  10. You’ll Never Walk Alone
  11. Central Park Blues
  12. He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands
  13. For All We Know
  14. African Mailman
  15. Please Read Me
  16. Just In Time
  17. When I Was A Young Girl
  18. Don’t Let Me Be Understood
  19. Gin House Blues 

Disc Two

  1. House Of The Rising Sun
  2. See Line Woman
  3. To Love Somebody
  4. Ne Me Quitte Pas
  5. Ain’t Got No/I Got Life
  6. To Be Young, Gifted And Black
  7. The Assignment Song
  8. No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed
  9. I’ll Look Around
  10. After You’ve Gone
  11. When I Was In My Prime
  12. Ain’t No Use
  13. Blues
  14. Cotton Eyed Joe
  15. Nobody
  16. Sunday In Savannah
  17. Zungo

Disc Three

  1. Backlash Blues
  2. Do What You Gotta Do
  3. Pirate Jenny
  4. The Other Woman
  5. Mississippi Goddam
  6. You Took My Teeth
  7. Four Women
  8. I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl
  9. Fodder In Her Wings
  10. For A While
  11. It Cold Out Here
  12. Saratoga
  13. Touching And Caring
  14. I Sing Just To Know That I’m Alive
  15. You Must Have Another Lover
  16. Porgy

Click here to buy