Townes Van Zandt
The Nashville Sessions

The Nashville Sessions




'These raw sessions will only enhance Townes’ reputation. ★★★' Max Bell, Record Collector

'A welcome release of an album that, whilst not a true classic of Americana, nonetheless deserves its place in the discography of the much missed country-folk icon.' TOM PATTERSON, SHINDIG!

'For those of you who aren't very well acquainted with this brilliant troubadour, this is a good place to start.' PENNY BLACK MUSIC

'It could have been the record that made him; maybe even the record that saved him. 7/10' ANDREW MUELLER, UNCUT

These are good performances and the accompaniment, at times quite expansive, never gets in the way of the songs. ★★★★ Spencer Leigh, Country Music People

In 1974, Townes Van Zandt recorded what would have been his seventh album Seven Come Eleven.  Business issues prevented its release until the recordings surfaced two decades later as The Nashville Sessions

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the beginning of Townes Van Zandt’s turbulent musical career and the continuation of a major catalogue reissue programme, Charly has restored the “long-lost” The Nashville Sessions to present a stunning document of the folk-blues master at his absolute peak. 

Restored and re-mastered from original tapes provided by producer and manager Kevin Eggers, the album, wrapped in an original Milton Glaser portrait cover, is released as a deluxe gatefold sleeve pac with fully illustrated and detailed sleeve notes by Uncut magazine's Rob Hughes: “These are songs that tap into the timeless myth of the American troubadour, a place where wandering souls tramp the byways of their homeland...”

1. At My Window
2. Rex's Blues
3. No Place To Fall
4. Buckskin Stallion Blues
5. White Freight Liner Blues
6. Snake Song
7. Loretta
8. Two Girls
9. Spider Song
10. When She Don't Need Me
11. Pueblo Waltz
12. Upon My Soul



Click here to buy