The Million Dollar Quartet
The Complete Million Dollar Session

The Complete Million Dollar Session




'The friendly face-off between the King and the killer is still phenomenal. It’s like eavesdropping on the jam session of the Gods - Perkins’ guitar-picking is divine, while Elvis and Jerry Lee bust a lung trying to out-earnest one another on the mostly gospel repertoire. ' RECORD COLLECTOR

Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash’s legendary session at the Sun Studios. This 2CD set also features solo highlights from all four members.

2006 marked the 50th Anniversary of a one-off meeting of rock’n’roll giants at Sun Studios on December 4th 1956. Consequently the recordings made on that day by the so-called Million Dollar Quartet really do have legendary status.

Carl Perkins was completing a recording session on which Jerry Lee Lewis had been playing piano when Elvis Presley dropped by to visit his old friends at Sun, where he had made his first seminal recordings a couple of years earlier.  The scene was set for an extraordinary impromptu jam session which was fortunately recorded for posterity by Sam Phillips’ engineer Jack Clement.

Supported by Carl Perkins’ band, Elvis, Carl and Jerry spontaneously run through a mixture of popular songs of the day, country favourites as well as the old country-gospel tunes which had so influenced the trio.

Johnny Cash’s actual involvement in the surviving tracks has for many years been a matter of conjecture. Although his voice does not seem to appear on any of the surviving tracks, several reliable authorities, including Cash himself in his autobiography, have stated that he was definitely present and performed on several songs.

The music we hear is a mixture of snippets of songs, passages of dialogue as well as several complete or near-complete songs. In one particularly fascinating segment, Elvis talks about and sings three of his own then-current releases, ‘Don’t Be Cruel’, ‘Paralysed’ and ‘That’s When Your Heartaches Begin’.

A limited number of those tracks were first released by Charly in 1980 and these were followed in 1988 with this 40 track, 67 minute collection which includes every available track from the session.

Attractively packaged in a newspaper style sleeve, the accompanying 12-page illustrated booklet by noted Sun authority Martin Hawkins documents the fascinating story behind these truly unique recordings.

  1. You Belong To My Heart
  2. When God Dips His Love In My Heart
  3. Just A Little Talk With Jesus
  4. Walk That Lonesome Valley
  5. I Shall Not Be Moved
  6. (There’ll Be) peace In The Valley (For Me)
  7. Down By The Riverside
  8. I’m In The Crowd But Oh So Alone
  9. Farther Along
  10. Blessed Jesus, Hold My Hand
  11. As We Travel Along On The Jericho Road
  12. I Just Can’t Make It By Myself
  13. Little Cabin On The Hill
  14. Summertime Has passed And Gone
  15. I Hear A Sweet Voice Calling
  16. Sweetheart, You Done Me Wrong
  17. Keeper Of The Key
  18. Crazy Arms
  19. Don’t Forbid Me
  20. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  21. Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
  22. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  23. Don’t Be Cruel
  24. Don’t Be Cruel
  25. paralysed
  26. Don’t Be Cruel
  27. There’s No place Like Home
  28. When The Saints Go Marching In
  29. Softly And Tenderly
  30. Is It So Strange
  31. That’s When Your Heartaches Begin
  32. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  33. Rip It up
  34. I’m Gonna Bid My Blues Goodbye
  35. Crazy Arms
  36. That’s My Desire
  37. At The End Of The Road
  38. Jerry’s Boogie
  39. You’re The Only Star In My Blue Heaven
  40. Elvis Farewell


Click here to buy