Carl Mann
Rockin’ Mann

Rockin’ Mann




The very best Sun recordings from an often overlooked talent

Elvis aside, at just sixteen years-old, Carl Mann was arguably Sun Records' first teen idol as Rock'n'Roll began to give way to saccharin pop.  Introduced to owner Sam Phillips by Carl Perkins' drummer W.S. Holland, Mann debuted with a rocked-up rendition of the Nat Cole hit 'Mona Lisa' for Sun's Phillips International subsidiary which duly peaked at US Pop No.25 / US R&B No.24.  The follow-up, 'Pretend', fared less well and shortly thereafter Mann retired from showbiz.  In the mid-70s he returned in a Country vein, recording for ABC and Dot.  Signing to the Dutch-owned Rockhouse label in 1977, Mann toured Europe periodically before returning to his family-run lumber business.  Coaxed out of retirement in 2005, Mann has continued to perform and record, notably alongside fellow Sun veterans Rayburn Anthony and W.S. Holland on the 2008 album Rockabilly Highway.

  1. Mona Lisa [alt.]
  2. Foolish One
  3. Rockin’ Love [alt.]
  4. Pretend
  5. Some Enchanted Evening
  6. I Can’t Forget You [undubbed]
  7. Look At That Moon
  8. Take These Chains From My Heart
  9. Too Young
  10. South Of The Border [alt.]
  11. Kansas City
  12. The Wayward Wind
  13. Ain’t Got No Home
  14. Blueberry Hill
  15. I’ll Always Love You, Darling
  16. Baby, I Don’t Care, I Don’t Care
  17. Ubangi Stomp
  18. I’m Comin’ Home
  19. Born To Be Bad [undubbed]
  20. Ain’t You Got No Lovin’ For Me
  21. Don’t Let The Stars Get In Your Eyes
  22. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
  23. Mountain Dew
  24. If I Could Change You [no chorus]
  25. Even Tho’
  26. Because Of You
  27. Long Black Veil


Click here to buy