Nina Simone
Jazz As Played In An Exclusive Side Street Club

Jazz As Played In An Exclusive Side Street Club



'Simone’s classic debut album for the Bethelhem label ‘has freshness and vitality that reflects Simone’s youth and essential album for anyone who wants to share the sense of unfettered possibilities that flow through Simone’s youthful music. ' RECORD COLLECTOR

Nina Simone is widely regarded as being one of world's finest vocalists and jazz intepreters.  Little Girl Blue aka Jazz As Played In An Exclusive Side Street Club was her first album, which she recorded for the Bethlehem label in 1958, and includes her superb interpretations of the jazz classics 'I Loves You Porgy' and the immortal 'My Baby Just Cares For Me'. 

For these recordings Nina was accompanied by Jimmy Bond on bass and Al Heath on drums, whilst she contributed her unique vocal talents and sensitive and highly accomplished piano playing.

This re-issue includes four bonus tracks in the form of three tracks recorded at the original album session, plus the extended version of ‘My Baby Just Cares For Me’.

  1. Mood Indigo
  2. Don’t Smoke In Bed
  3. He Needs Me
  4. Little Girl Blue
  5. Love Me Or Leave Me
  6. My Baby Just Cares For Me
  7. Good Bait
  8. Plain Gold Ring
  9. You’ll Never Walk Alone
  10. I Loves You Porgy
  11. Central Park Blues
  12. He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands
  13. For All We Know
  14. African Mailman
  15. My Baby Just Cares For Me [extended version]


Click here to buy