The 13th Floor Elevators
Live Evolution Lost [2CD]

Live Evolution Lost [2CD]




'...shows a group at the top of their game: powerful, together, in control - possibly the last time they were any of those things... a fascinating historical document, the thought and effort gone into its packaging and sense of completeness are more than enough incentive to jump on board. ★★★★ ' MOLE, SHINDIG!

'This is the one to get. Beyond the post-main course jams, Live Evolution Lost has two other carrots for any potential purchaser. The first is new mastering by Sonic Boom; the sound is more full and widescreen than any previous issue, with a markedly greater clarity and separation between instruments and vocals. The other selling point is the package itself. Live Evolution Lost is evidence of the mysterious bond uniting the 13th Floor Elevators at a concert where they ought to have imploded - a connection which was soon to see them record Easter Everywhere, one of the pivotal and most cryptic albums of the Sixties. Essential to any understanding of what made this band a unique, vital force.' KIERON TYLER, THE ARTS DESK

'An awesome document offering irrefutable proof that, when it came to mind-bending psychedelic rock, nobody went higher. ★★★★ ' KRIS NEEDS, RECORD COLLECTOR

'Uniquely compulsive listening. Those with ears for the evolution of The Elevators, in all its epic ambition and tragedy, will find it profoundly affecting. The unravelling had begun. And what a sound.' DAVID KEENAN, THE WIRE

A microcosm of The Elevators’ entire career: wild, woolly, flashingly brilliant but ultimately doomed. It started here. ROB HUGHES, CLASSIC ROCK presents PROG ROCK

Live Evolution Lost: The 13th Floor Elevators Live at the Houston Music Theatre  is the first-ever release of the complete performance of the band’s legendary show from 18th February 1967 presented in a deluxe 2CD mediabook.

The trailblazing 13th Floor Elevators released the first “psychedelic” rock album in America, transforming culture throughout the 1960s and beyond.  Formed in late 1965 in a small town in Texas by electric jug-playing Tommy Hall, guitarist & vocalist Roky Erickson and guitarist Stacy Sutherland, they were joined by bass player Benny Thurman and drummer John Ike Walton.  At a time when Baptist and Mormon preachers fought for the population’s spiritual wellbeing, and Country & Western music filled the bars on a Saturday night, from out of these conflicting extremes the Elevators were born and began making a name for themselves in the burgeoning Austin, TX music scene.

Although Roky Erickson was the frontman, the group’s sound and philosophy were created by the unpredictable and impulsive Tommy Hall. The Elevators followed their own cosmic route searching for a new path to enlightenment whilst creating a reputation for excess. The band developed a sound that merged garage-punk and psychedelic experimentation.  From the beginning, their music - played and created under the influence of LSD - was raw, ambitious and hugely experimental with Sutherland’s pioneering use of reverb and echo, and bluesy, acid-drenched guitar mixed with Tommy Hall’s innovative electric jug … psychedelic rock was conceived.

This two CD mediabook edition catches the band with its classic line-up before the release of Easter Everywhere and is the only known complete recording of an Elevators’ gig, and the latest to survive. Put together by band expert Paul Drummond, who also contributes extensive liner notes and mastered by Sonic Boom (Spacemen 3), this release also includes one reel unissued for over forty-five years. 

Disc 1

  1. (I’ve Got) Levitation
  2. Roller Coaster
  3. Fire Engine
  4. Reverberation (Doubt)
  5. Don’t Fall Down
  6. Tried To Hide
  7. Splash 1
  8. You’re Gonna Miss Me
  9. Monkey Island
  10. Kingdom Of Heaven
  11. She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own)

Disc 2

  1. Jam Intro
  2. Jam 1 - Roll Over Blue Suede Blues Jam
  3. Jam 2 - Backwards Evolution Jam
  4. Jam 3 - Ed’s Esoteric Jazz Jam
  5. Jam 4 - (It’s All Over Now) Baby Blue Jam
  6. Jam 5 - She Lives Jam
  7. Jam 6 - Hamburgers & Acid


Click here to buy