Crazy Cavan & The Rhythm Rockers
Live at Picketts Lock [2 x 10” LP]

Live at Picketts Lock [2 x 10” LP]




Recorded live at the height of the 70s RocknRoll revival, this 2LP set captures Crazy Cavan & The Rhythm Rockers at their rockinest best. 

Wholly synonymous with the 70s Rockabilly/Rock’n’Roll Revival, the mighty Crazy Cavan & The Rhythm Rockers remain active to this day, forty years on, enjoying pretty much the same legendary status as the first generation Rockers who originally inspired them - no mean feat considering they never quite managed the mainstream success of contemporaries such as Rocky Sharpe & The Replays or Darts.

Formed in 1970 in South Wales, the band first took shape as Count Dracula & The Vampires an outfit formed by Cavan Grogan (vocals), Lyndon Needs (lead guitar) and Terry Walley (rhythm guitar) in 1964.  Their ranks were swelled when Don Kinsella (bass) and Brian Thompson (piano) joined in 1968.  The addition of drummer Mike Coffey in 1970 saw the group coalesce as Crazy Cavan & The Rhythm Rockers.

Described as “the most dramatic band in the country” by Charly Records’ Joop Visser, in 1976 they signed to the label and released their first UK album Rockability.  Whilst UK chart success eluded them, their records sold well in Europe, notably in Finland and Spain, where their fanbase remains strong.  Leading the British vanguard at this year’s Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly week-ender, Crazy Cavan’s rough-hewn rockin’ rhythm remains as popular overseas as it does at home.

On 15th May 1976, more than 5000 Rock’n’Roll fans converged on London from all corners of the British Isles to march in protest at the dearth of Rock’n’Roll on the radio.  That summer the protest bore fruit when club deejays Stuart Colman and Geoff Barker took to the airwaves with their weekly It’s Rock’n’Roll show on BBC Radio 1.  The day’s events culminated in a celebratory concert at the Picketts Lock sports centre in Edmonton with Crazy Cavan headlining. 

Recorded at the height of the Rock’n’Roll revival, the atmospheric Live At Picketts Lock captures the excitement of Cavan & co. on stage and showcases many of the songs which have since become the bedrock of their live gigs.  Produced by the legendary John Schroeder and originally released in France on two 10” albums in 1983, this double vinyl set replicates the original 10” format and comprises both volumes in a photo-laden gatefold sleeve.  

Side 1

  1. Wildest Cat In Town
  2. Teddy Boy Rock'n'roll
  3. Got A Date With Sally
  4. Sadie
  5. Long Tall Sally
  6. Blue Suede Shoes

Side 2

  1. My Little Teddy Girl
  2. Nobody Else Like You
  3. Tongue-tied Jill
  4. Old Black Joe
  5. Teddy Boy Blues
  6. Bop, Pretty Baby

Side 3

  1. Caroline
  2. Monkey And The Baboon
  3. One Hand Loose
  4. Big Blonde Baby
  5. Whatcha Gonna Do When The Creek Runs Dry
  6. Alabama Shake

Side 4

  1. Rockabilly Stomp
  2. Hard Rock Cafe
  3. Stompin' Shoes
  4. She's The One To Blame
  5. Saturday Nite
  6. Real Gone Lover

Release date: 18 August 2014 • available to pre-order now

Click here to buy