Townes Van Zandt




Since his death at the age of 52 in 1997, the reputation and popularity of Townes Van Zandt have grown greater by the day. He left behind a musical legacy of some of the most beautifully crafted songs ever written and a legion of ever growing grateful admirers.

The solo tracks in this 2-CD collection cover Van Zandt’s most creative period, when he was recording for the Poppy and Tomato labels between 1968 and 1978. Most of his original output was recorded during this decade and appeared on his first eight albums. All of his finest songs and performances are included here, including ‘Pancho And Lefty’, ‘Tecumseh Valley’, ‘For The Sake Of The Song’ and ‘If I Needed You'.

As a special bonus, this collection includes six duets with famous country artists, including Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris and Freddy Fender. These were recordings Townes made in the early nineties and later overdubbed by the featured celebrities.

Disc One

  1. If I Needed You
  2. Pancho And Lefty
  3. Snow Don’t Fall
  4. No Lonesome Tune
  5. Silver Ships Of Andilar
  6. Heavenly Houseboat Blues
  7. Be Here To Love Me
  8. Kathleen
  9. Snake Mountain Blues
  10. St. John The Gambler
  11. Our Mother The Mountain
  12. For The Sake Of The Song
  13. None But The Rain
  14. Waiting Around To Die
  15. Lungs
  16. Colorado Girl
  17. I’ll Be Here In The Morning
  18. Nothin’
  19. Tower Song
  20. Come Tomorrow
  21. Marie (With Willie Nelson)
  22. Pancho And Lefty (With Freddy Fender)
  23. If I Needed You (With Emmylou Harris)

Disc Two

  1. Turnstyled, Junkpiled
  2. Brand New Companion
  3. Delta Moma Blues
  4. No Deal
  5. You Are Not Needed Now
  6. Highway Kind
  7. To Live Is To Fly
  8. Mr. Mudd And Mr. Gold
  9. High, Low And In-Between
  10. Loretta
  11. No Place To Fall
  12. Flyin’ Shoes
  13. Who Do You Love
  14. When She Don’t Need Me
  15. Snake Song
  16. Fraternity Blues (Live)
  17. Tecumseh Valley (Live)
  18. Cocaine Blues (Live)
  19. White Freight Liner Blues (Live)
  20. Only Him Or Me (Live)

Bonus Duets 
     21 Brother Flower (With Kimmie Rhodes)
     22 Two Girls (With Doug Sahm)
     23 At My Window (With Kathy Mattea)

Click here to buy