Elmore James
King of the Slide Guitar - The Complete Trumpet, Chief and Fire Sessions

King of the Slide Guitar - The Complete Trumpet, Chief and Fire Sessions




'An out-and-out Mojo classic.' MOJO

'A 62 track feast.' RECORD COLLECTOR

Definitive 3CD clambox set celebrating the Chicago bluesman’s best recordings.

Forty years ago, on 23rd May 1963, the blues world lost one of its most powerful figures , when Elmore James, the great singer, guitarist and songwriter died tragically at the age of just 45. To commemorate this anniversary we are issuing a deluxe 3 disc 64 track set, which comprises his complete classic recordings for the Chief, Fire and Enjoy labels and also the original Trumpet recording of his immortal hit, ‘Dust My Broom’.

James was the unchallenged king of the electric slide guitar, updating the legacy of the country blues to post-war Chicago, and his potent influence has been widely acknowledged by both blues and rock guitar heroes including Eric Clapton, Jimi Hendrix, Peter Green, Johnny Winter, Jeremy Spencer and Brian Jones.

Musicians said the following about Elmore James: “Elmore James was a major, maybe even the main reason why the Stones came about”, Bill Wyman. “Elmore is a Killer”, Ry Cooder. "I’d never leave the place where Elmore James was performing”, Chuck Berry.

Alongside “Dust My Broom”, his signature track, this box set features all of the tracks James cut between 1959 and 1963, when he was at his most potent and creative, recording for Bobby Robinson’s labels; Chief, Fire and Enjoy. It includes such blues classics as “Shake Your Moneymaker”, “Everyday I Have The Blues”, “The Sky Is Cryin’ ” and rare alternative takes of the awesome “Hand in Hand”.

Packaged in an attractive compact box, each of the three discs is housed in its own sleeve. The set’s accompanying 24 page booklet by blues authority Les Fancourt, is lavishly illustrated and includes a full discography.

Disc One

  1. Dust My Broom (I Believe My Time Ain’t Long)
  2. The Twelve Year Old Boy
  3. Coming Home
  4. It Hurts Me Too
  5. Knocking At Your Door
  6. Elmore’s Contribution To Jazz
  7. Cry For Me Baby
  8. Take Me Where You Go
  9. Bobby’s Rock
  10. The Sky Is Crying
  11. Baby, please Set A Date
  12. Held My Baby Last Night
  13. Dust My Broom
  14. Rollin’ And Tumblin’
  15. I’m Worried
  16. Done Somebody Wrong: Fine Little Mama
  17. I Need You (Baby)
  18. I Can’t Stop Lovin’ You
  19. Strange Angels
  20. Early One Morning
  21. She Done Moved

Disc Two

  1. Something Inside Me
  2. Stranger Blues
  3. Anna Lee
  4. Standing At The Crossroads
  5. (My) Bleeding Heart
  6. My Kind Of Woman
  7. Got To Move
  8. So Unkind
  9. Person To Person
  10. One Way Out
  11. Stranger Blues (Alt. Take)
  12. Shake Your Moneymaker (Take 1 / 2)
  13. Look On Yonder Wall
  14. Go Back Home Again
  15. Mean Mistreatin’ Mama
  16. Sunnyland Train
  17. You Know You Done Me Wrong
  18. Mean Mistreatin’ Mama (Take 1)
  19. Mean Mistreatin’ Mama (Take 2)
  20. You Know You’re Wrong
  21. Find My Kind Of Woman

Disc Three

  1. My Baby’s Gone
  2. Find My Kinda Woman
  3. Look On Yonder Wall (Look up On The Wall)
  4. Dust My Broom
  5. It Hurts Me Too
  6. Pickin’ The Blues (Manhattan Slide)
  7. Everyday I Have The Blues
  8. I Have A Right To Love My Baby
  9. Twelve Year Old Boy
  10. Got To Move (She’s Got To Go)
  11. I Gotta Go Now
  12. Talk To Me Baby
  13. Make My Dreams Come True
  14. Hand In Hand
  15. Can’t Stop Loving My Baby
  16. Dust My Broom
  17. Elmore Jumps One (up Jumped Elmore)
  18. I Believe
  19. Back Mississippi (Conversation)
  20. Hand In Hand
  21. Hand In Hand


Click here to buy