Kevin Ayers
Diamond Jack And The Queen Of Pain [180g vinyl edition]

Diamond Jack And The Queen Of Pain [180g vinyl edition]




An intriguing and rare solo album by the hugely influential and much-loved British singer-songwriter and founder member of Soft Machine.

Originally recorded in 1983 with long-term collaborator Olli Halsall on guitar and backing vocals plus full band and produced by Julian Ruiz in Madrid, Spain. Unavailable for over 30 years and only previously released on LP,  this 180-gram vinyl audiophile album has been cut directly from the recently discovered original Audiofilm Studios analogue master tape by Matt Colton at Alchemy.

Diamond Jack And The Queen Of Pain features ten songs. Alongside seven Ayers originals are ‘Steppin' Out’, a co-write with Olli Halsall, covers of ‘Lay, Lady, Lay’ by Bob Dylan, ‘You Keep Me Hangin' On’ by J.J. Cale, and two standout tracks ‘My Speeding Heart’ and the chillingly beautiful ‘Champagne And Valium’.

This reissue includes memories, stories, memorabilia and photos from Kevin’s fans, friends and fellow musicians, all compiled with the full cooperation of Kevin’s daughter, Galen Ayers.

Side 1
1. Madame Butterfly
2. Lay, Lady, Lay
3. Who's Still Crazy?
4. You Keep Me Hangin` On
5. You Are A Big Girl

Side 2
1. Steppin' Out
2. My Speeding Heart
3. Howling Man
4. Give A Little Bit
5. Champagne And Valium 

Release date: 18 August 2014 • available to pre-order now

Click here to buy