Quicksilver Messenger Service
Castles In The Sand

Castles In The Sand




For contractual reasons this release is not available for sale in North America.

The first authorised release of a one-off informal studio jam sessions by the classic, later line-up of one of San Francisco’s quintessential bands.

One of the first studio sessions by Quicksilver’s then new line-up of Dino Valente (vocals), John Cipollina (guitar), David Freiberg (bass & vocals), Greg Elmore (drums), with the British session pianist Nicky Hopkins. Mainly acoustic, it took place in Corte Madera, California in late 1969/early 1970. Most of the songs, a few of them running for nearly nine minutes each, were never to appear on an albums although they featured in the group's concerts.

The songs are often spontaneous, spare and unfinished in places and were likely intended as references for later development by the group, yet the sound and mixes are excellent. As such they offer a fascinating work-in-progress glimpse of this highly talented group of musicians re-inventing themselves and developing new material under studio conditions.

As well as working on new songs such as ‘Subway’ and the rarely-performed ‘The Fool’, the band run through several country, gospel and blues standards with which they were familiar, such as ‘I Know You Rider’, ‘Walk In Jerusalem’, Hank Williams’ ‘May You Never Be Alone’ and Cindy Walker’s ‘Warm Red Wine’.

The booklet’s sleeves notes cover the group’s circumstances at the time of the recordings and the featured songs.

  1. Señor Blues
  2. Subway
  3. I Know You Rider #1
  4. I Know You Rider #2
  5. Walk In Jerusalem
  6. Castles In the Sand
  7. May You Never Be Alone
  8. Warm Red Wine
  9. Look Over Yonder Wall / State Farm
  10. Wake Up, Dead Man (Part 1)

For contractual reasons this release is not available for sale in North America.

Click here to buy